The Weekenders

📒The Weekenders by Mary Kay Andrews

Book Title : The Weekenders
Author : Mary Kay Andrews
Publisher : Macmillan
Release Date : 2016-05-17
Pages : 464
ISBN : 9781250065940
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Weekenders Summary : Some people stay all summer long on the idyllic island of Belle Isle, North Carolina. Some people come only for the weekends-and it's something they look forward to all week long. When Riley Griggs is waiting for her husband to arrive at the ferry one Friday afternoon, she is instead served with papers informing her that her island home is being foreclosed. To make matters worse, her husband is nowhere to be found. She turns to her island friends for help and support, but each of them has their own secrets and the clock is ticking as the mystery deepens. Cocktail parties and crab boil aside, Riley must find a way to investigate the secrets of Belle Island, the husband she might not really know, and the summer that could change everything.

📒The Weekenders by Anonymous

Book Title : The Weekenders
Author : Anonymous
Publisher : Olympia Press
Release Date : 2013-06-04
Pages :
ISBN :
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Weekenders Summary :

📒The Weekenders by Alex Garland

Book Title : The weekenders
Author : Alex Garland
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 2001-11-08
Pages : 340
ISBN : 0091881803
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The weekenders Summary : What would happen if you took some of Britain's best writing talent, put them on a plane and flew them to one of the most extraordinary and inaccessible places on the planet?What would happen if you took Irvine Welsh from the streets of Edinburgh and showed him a remote, dangerous village in Africa?What would happen if you flew Alex Garland into one of the world's most hazardous war zones?And how would Tony Hawks react if you dragged him away from his tennis and asked him to write a song with a Sudanese tribesman?With Victoria Glendinning, Andrew O'Hagan, Giles Foden and WF Deedes, these writers have experienced for themselves one of the most beautiful and yet troubled lands in the world The Sudan.This remarkable collection of short stories and evocative travel writing is their response -as diverse and unpredictable as the country itself.

📒The Weekender Effect by Robert William Sandford

Book Title : The Weekender Effect
Author : Robert William Sandford
Publisher : Rocky Mountain Books Ltd
Release Date : 2011-02-01
Pages : 128
ISBN : 9781926855165
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Weekender Effect Summary : Provocative, passionate and populist, RMB Manifestos are short and concise non-fiction books of literary, critical, and cultural studies. As cities continue to grow at unprecedented rates, more and more people are looking for peaceful, weekend retreats in mountain or rural communities. More often than not, these retreats are found in and around resorts or places of natural beauty. As a result, what once were small towns are fast becoming mini cities, complete with expensive housing, fast food, traffic snarls and environmental damage, all with little or no thought for the importance of local history, local people and local culture. The Weekender Effect is a passionate plea for considered development in these bedroom communities and for the necessary preservation of local values, cultures and landscapes.

📒The High Tide Club by Mary Kay Andrews

Book Title : The High Tide Club
Author : Mary Kay Andrews
Publisher : St. Martin's Press
Release Date : 2018-05-08
Pages : 448
ISBN : 9781250126092
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The High Tide Club Summary : From the New York Times bestselling author of The Weekenders comes a delightful new novel about new love, old secrets, and the kind of friendship that transcends generations. When ninety-nine-year-old heiress Josephine Bettendorf Warrick summons Brooke Trappnell to Talisa Island, her 20,000 acre remote barrier island home, Brooke is puzzled. Everybody in the South has heard about the eccentric millionaire mistress of Talisa, but Brooke has never met her. Josephine’s cryptic note says she wants to discuss an important legal matter with Brooke, who is an attorney, but Brooke knows that Mrs. Warrick has long been a client of a prestigious Atlanta law firm. Over a few meetings, the ailing Josephine spins a tale of old friendships, secrets, betrayal and a long-unsolved murder. She tells Brooke she is hiring her for two reasons: to protect her island and legacy from those who would despoil her land, and secondly, to help her make amends with the heirs of the long dead women who were her closest friends, the girls of The High Tide Club—so named because of their youthful skinny dipping escapades—Millie, Ruth and Varina. When Josephine dies with her secrets intact, Brooke is charged with contacting Josephine’s friends’ descendants and bringing them together on Talisa for a reunion of women who’ve actually never met. The High Tide Club is Mary Kay Andrews at her Queen of the Beach Reads best, a compelling and witty tale of romance thwarted, friendships renewed, justice delivered, and true love found. Praise for The Weekenders: “This book has all the makings of a beach read...The perfect blend of drama, humor, intrigue, and just a touch of murder.” —Bustle “Andrews has this ‘perfect beach read’ label down pat—and then some. The Weekenders is not just good, it is beyond good... Summer doesn’t truly begin without a Mary Kay Andrews book in your beach bag,so here is another winner and Top Pick just for you.” —RT Book Reviews (Top Pick) “Andrews’ novels...are the epitome of relaxing yet involving summer reads, and her latest is no exception.” —Booklist

📒The Weekenders by Andrew O'Hagan

Book Title : The Weekenders
Author : Andrew O'Hagan
Publisher : Random House
Release Date : 2012-11-30
Pages : 320
ISBN : 9781448175246
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Weekenders Summary : In 2001 a group of authors including Andrew O'Hagan, Tony Hawks and Irvine Welsh were given the opportunity to visit Sudan, one of the world's most inaccessible countries. The resulting book: The Weekenders - Travels in the Heart of Africa was an award-winning triumph, combining fiction and non-fiction into a compelling travel narrative that was both entertaining and illuminating. Now the Weekenders are back, joined by some new faces and taking on one of the world's most fascinating and contradictory cities - Calcutta. It is a trip like nothing you've ever seen or heard of before.

📒The Weekenders by Sheila Roberts

Book Title : The Weekenders
Author : Sheila Roberts
Publisher :
Release Date : 1981*
Pages : 143
ISBN : STANFORD:36105130795482
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Weekenders Summary :

📒The Weekender Portland by Toby Mitchell

Book Title : The Weekender Portland
Author : Toby Mitchell
Publisher : Nhp Publishing
Release Date : 2018-05-07
Pages : 112
ISBN : 9187815346
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Weekender Portland Summary : Portland in Oregon explored in a new and unassuming way all through the photographer's fantastic images.

📒The Locals by Jonathan Dee

Book Title : The Locals
Author : Jonathan Dee
Publisher : Random House
Release Date : 2017-08-08
Pages : 416
ISBN : 9780679645016
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Locals Summary : “Summons up a small American town at precisely the right moment in our history . . . a bold, vital, and view-expanding novel.”—George Saunders A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times—fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan. A WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK Mark Firth is a contractor and home restorer in Howland, Massachusetts, who feels opportunity passing his family by. After being swindled by a financial advisor, what future can Mark promise his wife, Karen, and their young daughter, Haley? He finds himself envying the wealthy weekenders in his community whose houses sit empty all winter. Philip Hadi used to be one of these people. But in the nervous days after 9/11 he flees New York and hires Mark to turn his Howland home into a year-round “secure location” from which he can manage billions of dollars of other people’s money. The collision of these two men’s very different worlds—rural vs. urban, middle class vs. wealthy—is the engine of Jonathan Dee’s powerful new novel. Inspired by Hadi, Mark looks around for a surefire investment: the mid-decade housing boom. Over Karen’s objections, and teaming up with his troubled brother, Gerry, Mark starts buying up local property with cheap debt. Then the town’s first selectman dies suddenly, and Hadi volunteers for office. He soon begins subtly transforming Howland in his image—with unexpected results for Mark and his extended family. Here are the dramas of twenty-first-century America—rising inequality, working class decline, a new authoritarianism—played out in the classic setting of some of our greatest novels: the small town. The Locals is that rare work of fiction capable of capturing a fraught American moment in real time. Praise for The Locals “After 9/11, New York hedge fund billionaire Philip Hadi retreats to his summer home in the Berkshires. In thrall to his new town, he runs for office to keep it sleepy, sweet and free from tax hikes. Is he benevolent, arrogant or both? No one gets off the moral hook in this propulsive, brilliantly observed study.”—People (Book of the Week) “Thoughtful . . . [Jonathan Dee’s] prescient sensitivity has never been more unnerving. . . . Amid the heat of today’s vicious political climate, The Locals is a smoke alarm. Listen up.”—Ron Charles, The Washington Post

📒Beach Town by Mary Kay Andrews

Book Title : Beach Town
Author : Mary Kay Andrews
Publisher : St. Martin's Press
Release Date : 2015-05-19
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9781466872912
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Beach Town Summary : Greer Hennessy is a struggling movie location scout. Her last location shoot ended in disaster when a film crew destroyed property on an avocado grove. And Greer ended up with the blame. Now Greer has been given one more chance—a shot at finding the perfect undiscovered beach town for a big budget movie. She zeroes in on a sleepy Florida panhandle town. There's one motel, a marina, a long stretch of pristine beach and an old fishing pier with a community casino—which will be perfect for the film's climax—when the bad guys blow it up in an all-out assault on the townspeople. Greer slips into town and is ecstatic to find the last unspoilt patch of the Florida gulf coast. She takes a room at the only motel in town, and starts working her charm. However, she finds a formidable obstacle in the town mayor, Eben Thinadeaux. Eben is a born-again environmentalist who's seen huge damage done to the town by a huge paper company. The bay has only recently been re-born, a fishing industry has sprung up, and Eben has no intention of letting anybody screw with his town again. The only problem is that he finds Greer way too attractive for his own good, and knows that her motivation is in direct conflict with his. Will true love find a foothold in this small beach town before it's too late and disaster strikes? Told with Mary Kay Andrews inimitable wit and charm, the New York Times bestseller Beach Town is this year's summer beach read!