The Voyeur S Motel

📒The Voyeur S Motel by Gay Talese

Book Title : The Voyeur s Motel
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
Release Date : 2016-07-12
Pages : 240
ISBN : 9780802189738
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Voyeur s Motel Summary : On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of his landmark bestseller Thy Neighbor’s Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. “Since learning of your long awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,” the letter began, “I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.” The man went on to tell Talese an astonishing secret, that he had bought a motel to satisfy his voyeuristic desires. He had built an attic “observation platform,” fitted with vents, through which he could peer down on his unwitting guests. Unsure what to make of this confession, Talese traveled to Colorado where he met the man—Gerald Foos—verified his story in person, and read some of his extensive journals, a secret record of America’s changing social and sexual mores. But because Foos insisted on remaining anonymous, Talese filed his reporting away, assuming the story would remain untold. Now, after thirty-five years, he’s ready to go public and Talese can finally tell his story. The Voyeur’s Motel is an extraordinary work of narrative journalism, at once a portrait of one complicated man, and an examination of secret lives and shifting mores in a culturally-evolving country.

📒The Voyeur S Motel by Gay Talese

Book Title : The Voyeur s Motel
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Grove Press
Release Date : 2017-04-06
Pages : 240
ISBN : 1611855306
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Voyeur s Motel Summary :

📒The Voyeur S Motel by Gay Talese

Book Title : The Voyeur s Motel
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Atlantic Books Ltd
Release Date : 2016-07-14
Pages : 123
ISBN : 9781611859546
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Voyeur s Motel Summary : From Gay Talese, a remarkable new work of reportage more than thirty years in the making. On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. 'Since learning of your long awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,' the letter began, 'I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.' The man went on to tell Talese a remarkable, shocking secret, so compelling that Talese travelled to Colorado to verify it in person. But because the letter-writer insisted on remaining anonymous, Talese filed his reporting away, certain the story would remain untold. Over the next thirty-five years, the man occasionally reached out to Talese to fill him in on the latest developments in his life, but he continued to insist on anonymity. Finally, after thirty-five years, he's ready to go public. In the tradition of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Talese's landmark, best-selling exploration of the sexual revolution in America, this will be a provocative, eye-opening and much-talked-about book.

📒Thy Neighbor S Wife by Gay Talese

Book Title : Thy Neighbor s Wife
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release Date : 2009-06-16
Pages : 608
ISBN : 0061872288
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Thy Neighbor s Wife Summary : The provocative classic work newly updated An intimate personal odyssey across America's changing sexual landscape When first published, Gay Talese's 1981 groundbreaking work, Thy Neighbor's Wife, shocked a nation with its powerful, eye-opening revelations about the sexual activities and proclivities of the American public in the era before AIDS. A marvel of journalistic courage and craft, the book opened a window into a new world built on a new moral foundation, carrying the reader on a remarkable journey from the Playboy Mansion to the Supreme Court, to the backyards and bedrooms of suburbia—through the development of the porn industry, the rise of the "swinger" culture, the legal fight to define obscenity, and the daily sex lives of "ordinary" people. It is the book that forever changed the way Americans look at themselves and one another.

📒Unto The Sons by Gay Talese

Book Title : Unto the Sons
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Random House
Release Date : 2014-11-12
Pages : 592
ISBN : 9780307765413
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Unto the Sons Summary : "An Italian ROOTS." The Washington Post Book World At long last, Gay Talese, one of America's greatest living authors, employs his prodigious storytelling gifts to tell the saga of his own family's emigration to America from Italy in the years preceding World War II. Ultimately it is the story of all immigrant families and the hope and sacrifice that took them from the familiarity of the old world into the mysteries and challenges of the new.

📒High Notes by Gay Talese

Book Title : High Notes
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release Date : 2017-01-17
Pages : 288
ISBN : 9781632867476
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

High Notes Summary : A superb new collection from the illustrious career of Gay Talese, "the most important nonfiction writer of his generation" (David Halberstam). Admired by generations of reporters, Gay Talese has for more than six decades enriched American journalism with an unmatched ability to inhabit the worlds of his subjects. From the long-form Esquire articles that germinated into his masterful books--including Honor Thy Father and Thy Neighbor's Wife--to indelible portraits like the canonical "Frank Sinatra Has a Cold" and the recent, revealing account of avant-pop star Lady Gaga's studio session with the old-school crooner Tony Bennett, the pieces collected in High Notes are classics of the journalistic style Talese pioneered--"the art of hanging out," as he called it--and a bold testament to his enduring talent for unparalleled cultural observation and impeccable literary craftsmanship.

Book Title : The Kingdom and the Power
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Random House
Release Date : 2013-08-14
Pages : 576
ISBN : 9780679644736
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Kingdom and the Power Summary : The classic inside story of The New York Times, the most prestigious, and perhaps the most powerful, of all American newspapers. Bestselling author Talese lays bare the secret internal intrigues behind the tradition of front page exposes in a story as gripping as a work of fiction and as immediate as today's headlines.

Book Title : The Gay Talese Reader
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release Date : 2009-05-26
Pages : 288
ISBN : 0802719155
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Gay Talese Reader Summary : As a young reporter for The New York Times, in 1961 Gay Talese published his first book, New York-A Serendipiter's Journey, a series of vignettes and essays that began, "New York is a city of things unnoticed. It is a city with cats sleeping under parked cars, two stone armadillos crawling up St. Patrick's Cathedral, and thousands of ants creeping on top of the Empire State Building." Attention to detail and observation of the unnoticed is the hallmark of Gay Talese's writing, and The Gay Talese Reader brings together the best of his essays and classic profiles. This collection opens with "New York Is a City of Things Unnoticed," and includes "Silent Season of a Hero" (about Joe DiMaggio), "Ali in Havana," and "Looking for Hemingway" as well as several other favorite pieces. It also features a previously unpublished article on the infamous case of Lorena and John Wayne Bobbitt, and concludes with the autobiographical pieces that are among Talese's finest writings. These works give insight into the progression of a writer at the pinnacle of his craft. Whether he is detailing the unseen and sometimes quirky world of New York City or profiling Ol' Blue Eyes in "Frank Sinatra Has a Cold," Talese captures his subjects-be they famous, infamous, or merely unusual-in his own inimitable, elegant fashion. The essays and profiles collected in The Gay Talese Reader are works of art, each carefully crafted to create a portrait of an unforgettable individual, place or moment.

📒The Bridge by Gay Talese

Book Title : The Bridge
Author : Gay Talese
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release Date : 2014-10-28
Pages : 192
ISBN : 9781620409114
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Bridge Summary : Toward the end of 1964, the Verrazano (or, more properly, Verrazzano) Narrows Bridge-linking the New York City boroughs of Brooklyn and Staten Island-was completed. Fifty years later, it remains an engineering marvel. At 13,700 feet (more than two and a half miles), it is still the longest suspension bridge in the United States and the sixth longest in the world. Gay Talese, then early in his career at the New York Times, closely followed the construction, and soon after the opening of this marvel of human ingenuity and engineering, he chronicled the human drama of its completion-from the construction workers high on the beams to the backroom dealing that displaced whole neighborhoods to make way for the bridge. Now in a new, beautifully packaged edition featuring dozens of breathtaking photos and architectural drawings, The Bridge remains both a riveting narrative of politics and courage and a demonstration of Talese's consummate reporting and storytelling that will captivate new generations of readers.

Book Title : A Natural History of Hell
Author : Jeffrey Ford
Publisher : Small Beer Press
Release Date : 2016-07-26
Pages : 256
ISBN : 9781618731180
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Natural History of Hell Summary : A book of fantastic stories about the hell on earth that is living.