The Orphan Masters Son

📒Beverwijck by Janny Venema

Book Title : Beverwijck
Author : Janny Venema
Publisher : SUNY Press
Release Date : 2010-03-29
Pages : 528
ISBN : 9780791485019
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Beverwijck Summary : Paints a detailed picture of everyday life in an early American community.

Book Title : An Orphan s Lure of the Far East
Author : Dennis De Witt
Publisher : NUTMEG PUBLISHING
Release Date : 2013-08-03
Pages :
ISBN : 9781301026166
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

An Orphan s Lure of the Far East Summary : An Orphan’s Lure of the Far East is a short story about two brothers living at a brook near the Dutch town of Delft during the eighteen century. During their stay in a Church run orphanage, the two van der Beek brothers dreamt of adventure and fortune that could be made in the Far East. It is a typical bittersweet tale depicting human courage, self-preservation and destiny.

Book Title : The Register of New Netherland 1626 to 1674
Author : Edmund Bailey O'Callaghan
Publisher : Genealogical Publishing Com
Release Date : 2009-06-01
Pages : 198
ISBN : 9780806345284
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Register of New Netherland 1626 to 1674 Summary : This book is a wonderful research aid! New Netherland originally extended from the Chesapeake to Cape Cod. It later was what is now Delaware, New Jersey and New York. The author has identified the name, location and date of service of every Dutch official

Book Title : Between Poverty and the Pyre
Author : Jan Bremmer
Publisher : Routledge
Release Date : 2002-03-11
Pages : 288
ISBN : 9781134888832
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Between Poverty and the Pyre Summary : Between Poverty and the Pyre examines the history of the experience of widowhood across different cultures. It brings together a collection of essays by historians, anthropologists and philologists. The book shows how difficult it is to define the 'typical' widow, as the experiences of these women have differed so widely, not simply because of their different time periods and locations, but also becuase of their varying legal and religious status and economic conditions. The study is diverse with subjects ranging from: *Hindu wives who followed their husbands to the pyre *widows who were burned as witches *and widows who had to become prostitutes to stay alive. The book also explores Jesus's interest in widows and the experience of some well-known widows, such as Mohammed's first wife.

Book Title : Proclamations advertisements and other official notices
Author :
Publisher :
Release Date : 1827
Pages : 840
ISBN : BSB:BSB10359391
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Proclamations advertisements and other official notices Summary :

📒The Orphan Girl by Lindsey Hutchinson

Book Title : The Orphan Girl
Author : Lindsey Hutchinson
Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
Release Date : 2018-01-01
Pages : 429
ISBN : 9781788541473
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Orphan Girl Summary : Beloved author Lindsey Hutchinson is back with another novel of triumph over adversity set in the heart of a Black Country community. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Lyn Andrews. Taken into service, orphan Lily Rae has heard all the stories about what entitled masters think their pretty maid's duties include. But when the very worst happens to her, she knows scrubbing the scullery floors of Ryder House no longer provide refuge from the sadistic Sebastian Ryder... Cold and alone, Lily makes for the town of Wednesbury, knowing she has only herself to rely on... Tilley Green has nothing to her name except a fine figure her worn, patched-up clothes can't disguise, and the voice of an angel. Destined to be a chorus-hall star Tilley must first escape the clutches of her opportunistic and violent manager, a certain Seb Ryder... Life has been a long tough struggle for both Lily and for Tilley, but the town of Wednesbury just could be where they can find their own glimmer of happiness...

📒A Brief Account Of The Rise Progress And Management Of The Orphan School Etc by Orphan School, Hospital and Workhouse (EDINBURGH)

Book Title : A brief account of the rise progress and management of the Orphan School etc
Author : Orphan School, Hospital and Workhouse (EDINBURGH)
Publisher :
Release Date : 1735
Pages :
ISBN : BL:A0018999387
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A brief account of the rise progress and management of the Orphan School etc Summary :

Book Title : Children in Colonial America
Author : James Marten
Publisher : NYU Press
Release Date : 2007
Pages : 253
ISBN : 9780814757154
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Children in Colonial America Summary : With the recent explosion of high-profile court cases and staggering jury awards, America's justice system has moved to the forefront of our nation's consciousness. Yet while the average citizen is bombarded with information about a few sensational cases--such as the multi-million dollar damages awarded a woman who burned herself with McDonald's coffee-- most Americans are unaware of the truly dramatic transformation our courts and judicial system have undergone over the past three decades, and of the need to reform the system to adapt to that transformation. In Reforming the Civil Justice System, Larry Kramer has compiled a work that charts these revolutionary changes and offers solutions to the problems they present. Organized into three parts, the book investigates such topics as settlement incentives and joint tortfeasors, substance and form in the treatment of scientific evidence after Daubert v. Merrell Dow, and guiding jurors in valuing pain and suffering damages. Reforming the Civil Justice System offers feasible solutions that can realistically be adopted as our civil justice system continues to be refined and improved.

📒Yearbook by Dutch Settlers Society of Albany

Book Title : Yearbook
Author : Dutch Settlers Society of Albany
Publisher :
Release Date : 1935
Pages :
ISBN : PSU:000066285298
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Yearbook Summary :

Book Title : The Orphan of Zhao and Other Yuan Plays
Author : Stephen H. West
Publisher : Columbia University Press
Release Date : 2014-12-09
Pages : 432
ISBN : 9780231538107
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Orphan of Zhao and Other Yuan Plays Summary : This is the first anthology of Yuan-dynasty zaju (miscellaneous comedies) to introduce the genre to English-speaking readers exclusively through translations of the plays' fourteenth-century editions. Almost all previous translations of Yuan-dynasty zaju are based on late-Ming regularized editions that were heavily adapted for performance at the Ming imperial court and then extensively revised in the seventeenth century for the reading pleasure of Jiangnan literati. These early editions are based on leading actor scripts and contain arias, prose dialogue, and cue lines. They encompass a fascinating range of subject matter, from high political intrigue to commoner life and religious conversion. Crackling with raw emotion, violent imagery, and colorful language and wit, the zaju in this volume explore the consequences of loyalty and betrayal, ambition and enlightenment, and piety and drunkenness. The collection features seven of the twenty-six available untranslated zaju published in the fourteenth century, with a substantial introduction preceding each play and extensive annotations throughout. The editors also include translations of the Ming versions of four of the included plays and an essay that synthesizes recent Chinese and Japanese scholarship on the subject.