The Hour Of Land

📒The Hour Of Land by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : The Hour of Land
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Sarah Crichton Books
Release Date : 2016-05-31
Pages : 416
ISBN : 9780374712266
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Hour of Land Summary : America’s national parks are breathing spaces in a world in which such spaces are steadily disappearing, which is why more than 300 million people visit the parks each year. Now Terry Tempest Williams, the author of the environmental classic Refuge and the beloved memoir When Women Were Birds, returns with The Hour of Land, a literary celebration of our national parks, an exploration of what they mean to us and what we mean to them. From the Grand Tetons in Wyoming to Acadia in Maine to Big Bend in Texas and more, Williams creates a series of lyrical portraits that illuminate the unique grandeur of each place while delving into what it means to shape a landscape with its own evolutionary history into something of our own making. Part memoir, part natural history, and part social critique, The Hour of Land is a meditation and a manifesto on why wild lands matter to the soul of America.

📒The Hour Of Land by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : The Hour of Land
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Macmillan
Release Date : 2016-05-31
Pages : 416
ISBN : 9780374280093
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Hour of Land Summary : "A personal, lyrical, and idiosyncratic ode to our national parks"--

📒The Hour Of Land by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : The Hour of Land
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Picador
Release Date : 2017-07-04
Pages : 416
ISBN : 1250132142
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Hour of Land Summary : America's national parks are breathing spaces in a world in which such spaces are steadily disappearing. This is why more than 300 million people visit the parks each year. In The Hour of Land, Terry Tempest Williams, author of the environmental classic Refuge and the beloved memoir When Women Were Birds , offers a gift of celebration: an exploration of our national parks, and what they mean to us and we mean to them. From the Grand Tetons in Wyoming to Acadia in Maine to Big Bend in Texas, Williams captures the unique grandeur of each place while unearthing what it means to shape a landscape with its own evolutionary history into something of our own making. Part memoir, part natural history, and part social critique, The Hour of Land is a meditation and a manifesto on why wild lands matter to the soul of America. - Now a nominee for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence - For readers of Peter Matthiessen, Barry Lopez, and Annie Dillard - Beautiful paperback repackage with flaps makes this a perfect gift

📒When Women Were Birds by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : When Women Were Birds
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Macmillan
Release Date : 2013-02-26
Pages : 256
ISBN : 9781250024114
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

When Women Were Birds Summary : The author of the memoir Refuge offers a meditation on the meaning of a strange legacy that her mother left her--three shelves of the elder woman's "journals," all discovered by the author after her mother's death to be empty.

📒Erosion by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : Erosion
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Sarah Crichton Books
Release Date : 2019-10-08
Pages : 304
ISBN : 9780374712297
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Erosion Summary : Fierce, timely, and unsettling essays from an important and beloved writer and conservationist Terry Tempest Williams is one of our most impassioned defenders of public lands. A naturalist, fervent activist, and stirring writer, she has spoken to us and for us in books like The Hour of Land: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks and Refuge: An Unnatural History of Family and Place. In these new essays, Williams explores the concept of erosion: of the land, of the self, of belief, of fear. She wrangles with the paradox of desert lands and the truth of erosion: What is weathered, worn, and whittled away through wind, water, and time is as powerful as what remains. Our undoing is also our becoming. She looks at the current state of American politics: the dire social and environmental implications of recent choices to gut Bears Ears National Monument, sacred lands to Native People of the American Southwest, and undermine the Endangered Species Act. She testifies that climate change is not an abstraction, citing the drought outside her door and at times, within herself. Images of extraction and contamination haunt her: “oil rigs lighting up the horizon; trucks hauling nuclear waste on dirt roads now crisscrossing the desert like an exposed nervous system.” But beautiful moments of relief and refuge, solace and spirituality come—in her conversations with Navajo elders, art, and, always, in the land itself. She asks, urgently: “Is Earth not enough? Can the desert be a prayer?”

📒Finding Beauty In A Broken World by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : Finding Beauty in a Broken World
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 2008-10-07
Pages : 432
ISBN : 9780307377784
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Finding Beauty in a Broken World Summary : "Shards of glass can cut and wound or magnify a vision," Terry Tempest Williams tells us. "Mosaic celebrates brokenness and the beauty of being brought together." Ranging from Ravenna, Italy, where she learns the ancient art of mosaic, to the American Southwest, where she observes prairie dogs on the brink of extinction, to a small village in Rwanda where she joins genocide survivors to build a memorial from the rubble of war, Williams searches for meaning and community in an era of physical and spiritual fragmentation. In her compassionate meditation on how nature and humans both collide and connect, Williams affirms a reverence for all life, and constructs a narrative of hopeful acts, taking that which is broken and creating something whole.

📒Refuge by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : Refuge
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 1992
Pages : 304
ISBN : 9780679740247
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Refuge Summary : The author of Leap describes her Mormon upbringing, juxtaposing these reminiscences with discussions of the flooding of a wildlife bird sanctuary and its effect on that ecosystem, and her family's legacy of cancer. Reprint. 17,500 first printing.

📒The Open Space Of Democracy by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : The Open Space of Democracy
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Wipf and Stock Publishers
Release Date : 2010-01-01
Pages : 138
ISBN : 9781608992089
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Open Space of Democracy Summary : Terry Tempest Williams presents a sharp-edged perspective on the ethics and politics of place, spiritual democracy, and the responsibilities of citizen engagement. By turns elegiac, inspiring, and passionate, The Open Space of Democracy offers a fresh perspective on the critical questions of our time.

📒Pieces Of White Shell by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : Pieces of White Shell
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : UNM Press
Release Date : 1984
Pages : 162
ISBN : 0826309690
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Pieces of White Shell Summary : This unusual book is an introduction to Navajo culture by a storyteller. Steeped in the lore of the Navajo reservation, where she worked as a teacher, the author came to see Navajo legend and ritual as touchstones for evaluating her own experience. She presents them here as a means for all people to locate their own history, traditions, and sense of how to live well. "To know the oral tradition of Native American people is to feel the sensitivity and sensuality of language in its clearest motion and light, and this Williams has achieved in her appreciation of that tradition."--Simon Ortiz "Pieces of White Shellis vibrant--full of risk, gentleness, wonder, and humility."--Barry Lopez "This book is both informative and enormously evocative. Exposition and description are powerfully reinforced by recurrent passages in the mode of poetry and drama."--Brewster Ghiselin

📒An Unspoken Hunger by Terry Tempest Williams

Book Title : An Unspoken Hunger
Author : Terry Tempest Williams
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 2015-03-18
Pages : 160
ISBN : 9781101912430
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

An Unspoken Hunger Summary : The acclaimed author of Refuge here weaves together a resonant and often rhapsodic manifesto on behalf of the landscapes she loves, combining the power of her observations in the field with her personal experience—as a woman, a Mormon, and a Westerner. Through the grace of her stories we come to see how a lack of intimacy with the natural world has initiated a lack of intimacy with each other. Williams shadows lions on the Serengeti and spots night herons in the Bronx. She pays homage to the rogue spirits of Edward Abbey and Georgia O’Keeffe, contemplates the unfathomable wildness of bears, and directs us to a politics of place. The result is an utterly persuasive book—one that has the power to change the way we live upon the earth.