Ordinary Grace

đź“’Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger

Book Title : Ordinary Grace
Author : William Kent Krueger
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2014-03-04
Pages : 307
ISBN : 9781451645859
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Ordinary Grace Summary : Looking back at a tragic event that occurred during his thirteenth year, Frank Drum explores how a complicated web of secrets, adultery, and betrayal shattered his Methodist family and their small 1961 Minnesota community.

đź“’Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger

Book Title : Ordinary Grace
Author : William Kent Krueger
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2013-03-26
Pages : 320
ISBN : 9781451645866
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Ordinary Grace Summary : NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE 2014 EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL WINNER OF THE 2014 DILYS AWARD A SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK OF 2013 “That was it. That was all of it. A grace so ordinary there was no reason at all to remember it. Yet I have never across the forty years since it was spoken forgotten a single word.” New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson’s Drugstore, and Hot Stuff comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Accident. Nature. Suicide. Murder. Frank begins the season preoccupied with the concerns of any teenage boy, but when tragedy unexpectedly strikes his family—which includes his Methodist minister father; his passionate, artistic mother; Juilliard-bound older sister; and wise-beyond-his-years kid brother—he finds himself thrust into an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery, and betrayal, suddenly called upon to demonstrate a maturity and gumption beyond his years. Told from Frank’s perspective forty years after that fateful summer, Ordinary Grace is a brilliantly moving account of a boy standing at the door of his young manhood, trying to understand a world that seems to be falling apart around him. It is an unforgettable novel about discovering the terrible price of wisdom and the enduring grace of God.

đź“’Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger

Book Title : Ordinary Grace
Author : William Kent Krueger
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2013-03-26
Pages : 320
ISBN : 9781451645828
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Ordinary Grace Summary : Looking back at a tragic event that occurred during his 13th year, a man explores how a complicated web of secrets, adultery and betrayal shattered his Methodist family and their small 1961 Minnesota community. By the award-winning author of the Cork O'Connor series.

đź“’Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger

Book Title : Ordinary Grace
Author : William Kent Krueger
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2014-03-04
Pages : 307
ISBN : 9781451645859
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Ordinary Grace Summary : Looking back at a tragic event that occurred during his thirteenth year, Frank Drum explores how a complicated web of secrets, adultery, and betrayal shattered his Methodist family and their small 1961 Minnesota community.

đź“’Windigo Island by William Kent Krueger

Book Title : Windigo Island
Author : William Kent Krueger
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2015-05-19
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9781476749242
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Windigo Island Summary : Cork O’Connor battles vicious villains, both mythical and modern, to rescue a young girl in this riveting mystery from New York Times bestselling, Edgar Award–winning author William Kent Krueger. When the body of a teenage Ojibwe girl washes up on the shore of an island in Lake Superior, the residents of the nearby Bad Bluff reservation whisper that it was the work of a deadly mythical beast, the Windigo, or a vengeful spirit called Michi Peshu. Such stories have been told by the Ojibwe people for generations, but they don’t explain how the girl and her friend, Mariah Arceneaux, disappeared a year ago. At the request of the Arceneaux family, private investigator Cork O’Connor takes on the case. But on the Bad Bluff reservation, nobody’s talking. Still, Cork puts enough information together to find a possible trail. He learns that the old port city of Duluth is a modern-day center for sex trafficking of vulnerable women, many of whom are young Native Americans. As the investigation deepens, so does the danger. Yet Cork holds tight to his higher purpose—his vow to find Mariah, an innocent fifteen-year-old girl whose family is desperate to get her back. With only the barest hope of saving her from men whose darkness rivals that of the legendary Windigo, Cork prepares for an epic battle that will determine whether it will be fear, or love, that truly conquers all.

đź“’This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger

Book Title : This Tender Land
Author : William Kent Krueger
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2019-09-03
Pages : 464
ISBN : 9781476749310
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

This Tender Land Summary : For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota—the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O’Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent’s wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

đź“’Eucalyptus by Murray Bail

Book Title : Eucalyptus
Author : Murray Bail
Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Release Date : 2007-08-21
Pages : 264
ISBN : 9781466840584
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Eucalyptus Summary : Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book A New York Times Book Review Notable Book of the Year On a property in New South Wales, a widower named Holland lives with his daughter, Ellen. Over the years as she grows into a beautiful woman, Holland plants hundreds of different eucalyptus trees on his land, filling the landscape, making a virtual outdoor museum of trees. When Ellen is nineteen, Holland announces that she may only marry the man who can correctly name the species of each and every gum tree on his property. A strange contest begins, and Ellen is left unmoved by her suitors until she chances on a strange young man resting under the Coolibah tree whose stories will amaze and dazzle her. A modern fairy tale, and an unforgettable love story, that bristles with spiky truths and unexpected wisdom about art, feminine beauty, landscape, and language. Eucalyptus affirms the seductive power of storytelling itself.

đź“’Radical Wholeness by Philip Shepherd

Book Title : Radical Wholeness
Author : Philip Shepherd
Publisher : North Atlantic Books
Release Date : 2017-12-05
Pages : 328
ISBN : 9781623171780
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Radical Wholeness Summary : There are qualities we all yearn to experience in our lives—peace, simplicity, grace, connection, clarity. Yet these qualities evade us because each of them arises from an experience of wholeness, and we live in a culture that enforces divisions within each of us. In Radical Wholeness, Philip Shepherd shows the countless ways in which we are persuaded to separate from the body and live in the head. Disconnected from the body’s intelligence, we also disconnect from the wholeness of the present. This schism within us is the primary source of stress not just in our personal lives, but for the systems of the planet. Drawing from neuroscience, anthropology, physics, the arts, myth, personal stories and his experiences helping people around the world to experience wholeness, Philip Shepherd illuminates what true wholeness means and offers practices designed to help readers soften into the intelligence of the body. Radical Wholeness is a call to action: to recover wholeness and experience a new way of being.

đź“’Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger

Book Title : Iron Lake
Author : William Kent Krueger
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 1999-05-01
Pages : 464
ISBN : 9780671016975
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Iron Lake Summary : Part Irish, part Native American, Corcoran "Cork" O'Connor puts aside his grudge against the small Minnesota town that rejected him as a sheriff to investigate a sinister conspiracy responsible for the murder of the local judge. A first novel. Reprint. K. PW.

Book Title : Ordinary Work Extraordinary Grace
Author : Scott Hahn
Publisher : Image
Release Date : 2009-06-03
Pages : 176
ISBN : 9780307499646
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Ordinary Work Extraordinary Grace Summary : A deeply personal introduction to the biblical theology and spirituality of Opus Dei by the bestselling Catholic author Scott Hahn. To conspiracy theorists, Opus Dei is a highly secretive and powerful international organization. To its members, however, Opus Dei is a spiritual path, a way of incorporating the teachings of Jesus into everyday life. In Ordinary Work, Extraordinary Grace, Scott Hahn, a member of Opus Dei, describes the organization’s founding, its mission, and its profound influence on his life. Hahn recounts the invaluable part Opus Dei played in his conversion from Evangelical Christianity to Catholicism and explains why its teachings remain at the center of his life. Through stories about his job, his marriage, his role as a parent, and his community activities, Hahn shows how Opus Dei’s spirituality enriches the meaning of daily tasks and transforms ordinary relationships. He offers inspiring insights for reconciling spiritual and material goals, discussing topics ranging from ambition, workaholism, friendship, and sex, to the place of prayer and sacrifice in Christianity today. Engaging and enlightening, Ordinary Work, Extraordinary Grace is at once a moving personal story and an inspiring work of contemporary spirituality.