Into The Lions Mouth

Book Title : Into the Lion s Mouth
Author : Larry Loftis
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2016
Pages : 370
ISBN : 9780425281819
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Into the Lion s Mouth Summary : James Bond has nothing on Dusko Popov. A triple agent for the Abwehr, MI5 and MI6 and the FBI during World War II, Popov seduced numerous women, spoke five languages and was a crack shot, all while maintaining his cover as a Yugoslavian diplomat. Into The Lion's Mouth is a globe-trotting account of Popov's entanglement with espionage, murder, assassins and lovers - including enemy spies and a Hollywood starlet. It is a story of subterfuge and seduction, patriotism and cold-blooded courage.

Book Title : Into the Lion s Mouth
Author : Michael Smart
Publisher :
Release Date : 2014-08-15
Pages : 447
ISBN : 098996552X
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Into the Lion s Mouth Summary : "Into the Lion's Mouth" is the true story of the most notorious "lost bell" diving accident in North Sea history.

Book Title : The Lion s Mouth
Author : Anne Holt
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2016-02-09
Pages : 336
ISBN : 9781501123238
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Lion s Mouth Summary : From the internationally bestselling author of 1222, called the “godmother of modern Norwegian crime” by Jo Nesbø, the next book in the Edgar Award–nominated mystery series: Hanne Wilhelmsen is on the case when someone murders the prime minister of Norway. Less than six months after taking office, the Norwegian Prime Minister is found dead. She has been shot in the head. But was it a politically motivated assassination or personal revenge? Hanne Wilhelmsen, Chief Inspector of the Norwegian Police, is on leave in California but when the death shakes the country to its core, she knows she can’t remain on the sidelines of such a crucial investigation. The hunt for the Prime Minister’s killer is complicated, intense, and grueling. When secrets begin to unravel from the Prime Minister’s past, Hanne and her partner, Billy T., must piece together the crime before a private tragedy becomes a public outcry, in what will become the most sensitive case of their career. Filled with lies, deception, and the truth about government, The Lion’s Mouth questions who truly holds the power in Norway, and how far they will go to keep it.

đź“’Code Name Lise by Larry Loftis

Book Title : Code Name Lise
Author : Larry Loftis
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2019-01-15
Pages : 384
ISBN : 9781501198670
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Code Name Lise Summary : Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019—Woman’s Day The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year—BookBub “A nonfiction thriller.”—Wall Street Journal From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill. As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues. In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

Book Title : Bread from the Lion s Mouth
Author : Suraiya Faroqhi
Publisher : Berghahn Books
Release Date : 2015-03-01
Pages : 366
ISBN : 9781782385592
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Bread from the Lion s Mouth Summary : The newly awakened interest in the lives of craftspeople in Turkey is highlighted in this collection, which uses archival documents to follow Ottoman artisans from the late 15th century to the beginning of the 20th. The authors examine historical changes in the lives of artisans, focusing on the craft organizations (or guilds) that underwent substantial changes over the centuries. The guilds transformed and eventually dissolved as they were increasingly co-opted by modernization and state-building projects, and by the movement of manufacturing to the countryside. In consequence by the 20th century, many artisans had to confront the forces of capitalism and world trade without significant protection, just as the Ottoman Empire was itself in the process of dissolution.

Book Title : Save Me from the Lion s Mouth
Author : James Clarke
Publisher : Struik Pub
Release Date : 2012
Pages : 246
ISBN : 1920544755
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Save Me from the Lion s Mouth Summary : This controversial expose of the conflict between humans and wildlife lifts the lid on the battle for turf: the future of conservation will depend on the relationship established between wildlife authorities and those bearing the brunt along the front line."

📒Spy Counterspy by Duško Popov

Book Title : Spy counterspy
Author : Duško Popov
Publisher :
Release Date : 1974
Pages : 339
ISBN : STANFORD:36105080746543
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Spy counterspy Summary :

Book Title : In the Lion s Mouth
Author : Omar H. Ali
Publisher : Univ. Press of Mississippi
Release Date : 2010-10-14
Pages : 288
ISBN : 1604737808
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

In the Lion s Mouth Summary : Following the collapse of Reconstruction in 1877, African Americans organized a movement—distinct from the white Populist movement—in the South and parts of the Midwest for economic and political reform: Black Populism. Between 1886 and 1898, tens of thousands of black farmers, sharecroppers, and agrarian workers created their own organizations and tactics primarily under black leadership. As Black Populism grew as a regional force, it met fierce resistance from the Southern Democrats and constituent white planters and local merchants. African Americans carried out a wide range of activities in this hostile environment. They established farming exchanges and cooperatives; raised money for schools; published newspapers; lobbied for better agrarian legislation; mounted boycotts against agricultural trusts and business monopolies; carried out strikes for better wages; protested the convict lease system, segregated coach boxes, and lynching; demanded black jurors in cases involving black defendants; promoted local political reforms and federal supervision of elections; and ran independent and fusion campaigns. Growing out of the networks established by black churches and fraternal organizations, Black Populism found further expression in the Colored Agricultural Wheels, the southern branch of the Knights of Labor, the Cooperative Workers of America, the Farmers Union, and the Colored Farmers Alliance. In the early 1890s African Americans, together with their white counterparts, launched the People’s Party and ran fusion campaigns with the Republican Party. By the turn of the century, Black Populism had been crushed by relentless attack, hostile propaganda, and targeted assassinations of leaders and foot soldiers of the movement. The movement’s legacy remains, though, as the largest independent black political movement until the rise of the modern civil rights movement.

đź“’The January Dancer by Michael Flynn

Book Title : The January Dancer
Author : Michael Flynn
Publisher : St. Martin's Press
Release Date : 2011-06-28
Pages : 410
ISBN : 0765357798
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The January Dancer Summary : Follows the adventures of Captain Amos January and a host of rivals struggling to obtain an ancient pre-human artifact of great power that incites murderous actions in those who seek it.

đź“’The Lion S Mouth by Caterina Edwards

Book Title : The Lion s Mouth
Author : Caterina Edwards
Publisher : Guernica Editions
Release Date : 1993
Pages : 271
ISBN : 0920717675
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Lion s Mouth Summary : n The Lion's Mouth, an Italian-Canadian woman, Bianca, tells the story of her beloved cousin, Marco, whose life is disintegrating along with his city - Venice. Marco is her dark twin, her Italian self. As she tries to make sense of her cousin's breakdown, she describes her story and reflects on her immigrant and Canadian experiences, coming to terms with her dual cultures. The novel is multifaceted - a thriller, a study of social mores in Italy and Canada, a portrait of Venice, a self-reflexive account - and yet the whole is seamless, powerful, and elegant.