How Children Succeed 2

Book Title : How Children Succeed
Author : Paul Tough
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date : 2012
Pages : 231
ISBN : 9780547564654
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

How Children Succeed Summary : Challenges conventional views about standardized testing to argue that success is more determined by self-discipline, and describes the work of pioneering researchers and educators who have enabled effective new teaching methods.

Book Title : Helping Children Succeed
Author : Paul Tough
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date : 2016-05-24
Pages : 144
ISBN : 9780544935310
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Helping Children Succeed Summary : From the New York Times best-selling author of How Children Succeed, an essential handbook of “informative and effective methods to help children overcome issues and thrive at home and in school”*—now including sixteen new infographics! In How Children Succeed, Paul Tough introduced us to research showing that personal qualities like perseverance, self-control, and conscientiousness play a critical role in children’s success. Now, in Helping Children Succeed, Tough takes on a new set of pressing questions: What does growing up in poverty do to children’s mental and physical development? How does adversity at home affect their success in the classroom, from preschool to high school? And what practical steps can the adults who are responsible for them take to improve their chances for a positive future? Tough once again encourages us to think in a new way about the challenges of childhood. Mining the latest research in psychology and neuroscience, he provides us with insights and strategies for a new approach to childhood adversity, one designed to help many more children succeed. * (Kirkus Reviews)

Book Title : Whatever It Takes
Author : Paul Tough
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date : 2009-09-10
Pages : 304
ISBN : 0547348215
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Whatever It Takes Summary : What would it take? That was the question that Geoffrey Canada found himself asking. What would it take to change the lives of poor children—not one by one, through heroic interventions and occasional miracles, but in big numbers, and in a way that could be replicated nationwide? The question led him to create the Harlem Children’s Zone, a ninety-seven-block laboratory in central Harlem where he is testing new and sometimes controversial ideas about poverty in America. His conclusion: if you want poor kids to be able to compete with their middle-class peers, you need to change everything in their lives—their schools, their neighborhoods, even the child-rearing practices of their parents. Whatever It Takes is a tour de force of reporting, an inspired portrait not only of Geoffrey Canada but of the parents and children in Harlem who are struggling to better their lives, often against great odds. Carefully researched and deeply affecting, this is a dispatch from inside the most daring and potentially transformative social experiment of our time. This e-book includes a sample chapter of HOW CHILDREN SUCCEED.

Book Title : The Gift of Failure
Author : Jessica Lahey
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release Date : 2015-08-11
Pages : 304
ISBN : 9780062299246
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Gift of Failure Summary : NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In the tradition of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel’s The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration that occur from life’s inevitable problems so that they can grow up to be successful, resilient, and self-reliant adults. Modern parenting is defined by an unprecedented level of overprotectiveness: parents who rush to school at the whim of a phone call to deliver forgotten assignments, who challenge teachers on report card disappointments, mastermind children’s friendships, and interfere on the playing field. As teacher and writer Jessica Lahey explains, even though these parents see themselves as being highly responsive to their children’s well being, they aren’t giving them the chance to experience failure—or the opportunity to learn to solve their own problems. Overparenting has the potential to ruin a child’s confidence and undermine their education, Lahey reminds us. Teachers don’t just teach reading, writing, and arithmetic. They teach responsibility, organization, manners, restraint, and foresight—important life skills children carry with them long after they leave the classroom. Providing a path toward solutions, Lahey lays out a blueprint with targeted advice for handling homework, report cards, social dynamics, and sports. Most importantly, she sets forth a plan to help parents learn to step back and embrace their children’s failures. Hard-hitting yet warm and wise, The Gift of Failure is essential reading for parents, educators, and psychologists nationwide who want to help children succeed.

đź“’Unselfie by Michele Borba

Book Title : UnSelfie
Author : Michele Borba
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2016-06-07
Pages : 288
ISBN : 9781501110030
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

UnSelfie Summary : "According to Michele Borba, the woman Dr. Drew calls "the most trusted parenting expert in America," there's an empthy crisis among today's youth, who she dubs the "selfie generation." But the good news is that empathy is a skill that can -- and must -- be taught, and in UNSELFIE (her first book for a general trade audience) Borba offers a 9-step program to help parents cultivate empathy in children, from birth to young adulthood"--

Book Title : How to Raise Successful People
Author : Esther Wojcicki
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin
Release Date : 2019-05-07
Pages : 336
ISBN : 9781328974860
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

How to Raise Successful People Summary : The Godmother of Silicon Valley, legendary teacher, and mother of a Super Family shares her tried-and-tested methods for raising happy, healthy, successful children using Trust, Respect, Independence, Collaboration, and Kindness: TRICK. Esther Wojcicki--"Woj" to her many friends and admirers--is famous for three things: teaching a high school class that has changed the lives of thousands of kids, inspiring Silicon Valley legends like Steve Jobs, and raising three daughters who have each become famously successful. What do these three accomplishments have in common? They're the result of TRICK, Woj's secret to raising successful people: Trust, Respect, Independence, Collaboration, and Kindness. Simple lessons, but the results are radical. Wojcicki's methods are the opposite of helicopter parenting. As we face an epidemic of parental anxiety, Woj is here to say: relax. Talk to infants as if they are adults. Allow teenagers to pick projects that relate to the real world and their own passions, and let them figure out how to complete them. Above all, let your child lead. How to Raise Successful People offers essential lessons for raising, educating, and managing people to their highest potential. Change your parenting, change the world.

đź“’Raising Winners by Shari Young Kuchenbecker

Book Title : Raising Winners
Author : Shari Young Kuchenbecker
Publisher : Three Rivers Press (CA)
Release Date : 2000
Pages : 332
ISBN : 081293167X
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Raising Winners Summary : A sports psychologist offers advice on helping children develop through sports, discussing the right sport for a child, keeping kids motivated, handling competition, and maintaining a sense of balance in a young athlete's life.

đź“’Math Coach by Wayne A. Wickelgren

Book Title : Math Coach
Author : Wayne A. Wickelgren
Publisher : Berkley Publishing Group
Release Date : 2001
Pages : 283
ISBN : 0425179834
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Math Coach Summary : From counting to algebra, it all adds up when parents use this easy math guide to help their kids make the grade.

Book Title : How Children Succeed
Author : Cathy Wilson
Publisher : CreateSpace
Release Date : 2014-11-16
Pages : 80
ISBN : 1503262170
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

How Children Succeed Summary : How Children Succeed - Raising Successful Children by Best Selling Health and Wellness Author Cathy Wilson, introduces parenting strategies essential for healthy child growth and development! Wilson shows you how to set your child up for success. Building a solid life platform that teaches your child to become successful. SNEAK PEAK INSIDE... *SCHOOL influence in raising happy children *FAMILY relations building confidence in children *NUTRITION to reverse childhood obesity *EXERCISE build self esteem in children *LIFESTYLE teaching children values *LIFE CHANGES that build confidence in children SOME TOOLS TO PAVE A POSITIVE PATH FOR YOUR CHILD... *POSITIVE ATTITUDE *PERSISTENCE *DEALING WITH LIFE SETBACKS Your responsibility is to show your child how to BELIEVE, SET GOALS, and MAKE THEM REALITY! How Children Succeed: Raising Successful Children is your first step in setting your child up for success!

Book Title : Creating Capable Kids
Author : Bruce Howlett
Publisher :
Release Date : 2015
Pages : 240
ISBN : 088282497X
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Creating Capable Kids Summary : Here is a compelling, thought-provoking, practical guide to parenting and educating today's children. By incorporating twelve key capabilities, such as sensory awareness, creative imagination and self-awareness, parents and teachers can help develop critical tools for children's survival and success.