Empty Mansions

đź“’Empty Mansions by Bill Dedman

Book Title : Empty Mansions
Author : Bill Dedman
Publisher : Ballantine Books
Release Date : 2014
Pages : 470
ISBN : 9780345534538
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empty Mansions Summary : A cousin of Huguette Clark and a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist trace the life of the reclusive American heiress against a backdrop of the now-infamous W. A. Clark family and include coverage of the internet sensation and elder-abuse investigation that occurred at the end of her life.

Book Title : The Phantom of Fifth Avenue
Author : Meryl Gordon
Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
Release Date : 2014-05-27
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9781455512645
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Phantom of Fifth Avenue Summary : Born in 1906, Huguette Clark grew up in her family's 121-room Beaux Arts mansion in New York and was one of the leading celebrities of her day. Her father William Andrews Clark, was a copper magnate, the second richest man in America, and not above bribing his way into the Senate. Huguette attended the coronation of King George V. And at twenty-two with a personal fortune of $50 million to her name, she married a Princeton man and childhood friend William MacDonald Gower. Two-years later the couple divorced. After a series of failed romances, Huguette began to withdraw from society--first living with her mother in a kind of Grey Gardens isolation then as a modern-day Miss Havisham, spending her days in a vast apartment overlooking Central Park, eating crackers and watching The Flintstones with only servants for company. All her money and all her real estate could not protect her in her later life from being manipulated by shady hangers-on and hospitals that were only too happy to admit (and bill) a healthy woman. But what happened to Huguette that turned a vivacious, young socialite into a recluse? And what was her life like inside that gilded, copper cage?

đź“’Empty Mansions by Paul Clark Newell Jr

Book Title : Empty Mansions
Author : Paul Clark Newell Jr
Publisher : Atlantic Books Ltd
Release Date : 2013-11-28
Pages : 300
ISBN : 9781782394778
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empty Mansions Summary : Empty Mansions is a rich mystery of wealth and loss, connecting the Gilded Age opulence of nineteenth-century America with a twenty-first-century battle over a $300 million inheritance. At its heart is a reclusive heiress named Huguette Clark, a woman so secretive that, at the time of her death at age 104, no new photograph of her had been seen in decades. Though she owned palatial homes in California, New York, and Connecticut, why had she lived for twenty years in a simple hospital room, despite being in excellent health? Why were her valuables being sold off? Was she in control of her fortune, or controlled by those managing her money? Huguette Clark was the daughter of self-made copper industrialist W. A. Clark, nearly as rich as Rockefeller in his day, a controversial senator, railroad builder, and founder of Las Vegas. She grew up in the largest house in New York City, a remarkable dwelling with 121 rooms for a family of four. She owned paintings by Degas and Renoir, a world-renowned Stradivarius violin, a vast collection of antique dolls. But wanting more than treasures, she devoted her wealth to buying gifts for friends and strangers alike, to quietly pursuing her own work as an artist, and to guarding the privacy she valued above all else. Empty Mansions reveals a complex portrait of the mysterious Huguette and her intimate circle. We meet her extravagant father, her publicity-shy mother, her star-crossed sister, her French boyfriend, her nurse who received more than $30 million in gifts, and the relatives fighting to inherit Huguette's copper fortune. Richly illustrated with more than seventy photographs, Empty Mansions is an enthralling story of an eccentric of the highest order, a last jewel of the Gilded Age who lived life on her own terms.

đź“’Empty Mansions by Bill Dedman

Book Title : Empty Mansions
Author : Bill Dedman
Publisher :
Release Date : 2014-01-29
Pages : 496
ISBN : 1782394761
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empty Mansions Summary : The rich mystery of a reclusive, eccentric heiress Huguette Clark: a true story of wealth and loss, connecting the Gilded Age opulence of the nineteenth century with a twenty-first-century battle over a $300 million inheritance.

đź“’Empty Mansions by Bill Dedman

Book Title : Empty Mansions
Author : Bill Dedman
Publisher :
Release Date : 2015
Pages : 496
ISBN : 1782394788
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empty Mansions Summary : In the tradition of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, an extraordinary Dickensian story of wealth and eccentricity.

đź“’Gilded Mansions by Wayne Craven

Book Title : Gilded Mansions
Author : Wayne Craven
Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
Release Date : 2009
Pages : 383
ISBN : 0393067548
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Gilded Mansions Summary : The Gilded Age (1865-1918) saw the sudden rise of America's first High Society, including such prominent families as the Astors, Whitneys, and Vanderbilts. As an aristocracy based on fortunes recently acquired, these families endeavored to live like Europe's blue-blooded nobility, shedding Puritan restraint as they joyously flaunted their new wealth--especially where their homes were concerned. They erected French chateaus and Italian palazzos on New York's Fifth Avenue, at Newport, and elsewhere, often taking inspiration from Parisian styles of the Second Empire. They rejected more modest American styles just as they rejected middle-class society, and for interior decoration they turned to such artisans as Tiffany, Herter Brothers, and Allard's of Paris. Immensely readable and illuminated with 250 stunning color and black-and-white illustrations, this is the fascinating story of America's first millionaire society, the way they lived and partied, and the lush artistic and cultural legacy they established.

Book Title : Scandalous Newport Rhode Island
Author : Larry Stanford
Publisher : Arcadia Publishing
Release Date : 2013-04-02
Pages : 128
ISBN : 9781625844910
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Scandalous Newport Rhode Island Summary : Newport, Rhode Island, is renowned for its stunning cliff-side vistas and the luxurious summer homes of the Gilded Age elite. Yet the opulent facades of the City by the Sea concealed the scintillating scandals, eccentric characters and unsolved mysteries of its wealthiest families. Learn how Cornelius Vanderbilt III was cut out of the family's fortune for his unapproved marriage to Grace Wilson and how John F. Kennedy's marriage to a Newport debutante helped to secure his presidency. Travel to the White Horse Tavern, where a vengeful specter still waits for his supposed murderer to return to the scene, and discover the mysterious voyage of the "Sea Bird" and its missing crew. Historian Larry Stanford searches the dark corners of Newport's past to expose these scandalous tales and more.

Book Title : Great Houses of New York 1880 1930
Author : Michael C. Kathrens
Publisher : Acanthus PressLlc
Release Date : 2005
Pages : 383
ISBN : UCSD:31822035159730
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Great Houses of New York 1880 1930 Summary : A stunning volume documenting the architecture of more that forty structures, providing a history of the families that commissioned them. A unique blend of social and architectural history.

đź“’Fortune S Children by Arthur T. Vanderbilt

Book Title : Fortune s Children
Author : Arthur T. Vanderbilt
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release Date : 1991-02-20
Pages : 544
ISBN : 9780688103866
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Fortune s Children Summary : Vanderbilt: the very name signifies wealth. The family patriarch, "the Commodore," built up a fortune that made him the world's richest man by 1877. Yet, less than fifty years after the Commodore's death, one of his direct descendants died penniless, and no Vanderbilt was counted among the world's richest people. Fortune's Children tells the dramatic story of all the amazingly colorful spenders who dissipated such a vast inheritance.

đź“’Empty Mansions by Realbuzz Studios

Book Title : Empty Mansions
Author : Realbuzz Studios
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release Date : 2008-05-20
Pages : 96
ISBN : 9781418580971
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empty Mansions Summary : You'll never discover the secret if you stay safe at home. Like generations before them, cadets Adam and Dawn have always lived aboard the asteroid. But past generations have never experienced a threat like this: Robotic Alien Technology (R.A.T.) is attacking the spaceship--with the intent to destroy everyone on board. Dawn and Adam are two of the best new Coupler pilots, but they're also famous for their clashes. When a family crisis and a R.A.T. sighting coincide, Dawn has to call on all her inner resources to stay focused on the mission. A deep space discovery lies ahead, threatening to forever alter the ship's future--and every life on it.