Empires End

Book Title : Empire s End Aftermath Star Wars
Author : Chuck Wendig
Publisher : Del Rey
Release Date : 2017-02-21
Pages : 432
ISBN : 9781101966976
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empire s End Aftermath Star Wars Summary : NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Following Star Wars: Aftermath and Star Wars: Life Debt, Chuck Wendig delivers the exhilarating conclusion to the New York Times bestselling trilogy set in the years between Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens. EVERY END IS A NEW BEGINNING. As the final showdown between the New Republic and the Empire draws near, all eyes turn to a once-isolated planet: Jakku. The Battle of Endor shattered the Empire, scattering its remaining forces across the galaxy. But the months following the Rebellion’s victory have not been easy. The fledgling New Republic has suffered a devastating attack from the Imperial remnant, forcing the new democracy to escalate its hunt for the hidden enemy. For her role in the deadly ambush, Grand Admiral Rae Sloane is the most wanted Imperial war criminal—and one-time rebel pilot Norra Wexley, back in service at Leia’s urgent request, is leading the hunt. But more than just loyalty to the New Republic drives Norra forward: Her husband was turned into a murderous pawn in Sloane’s assassination plot, and now she wants vengeance as much as justice. Sloane, too, is on a furious quest: pursuing the treacherous Gallius Rax to the barren planet Jakku. As the true mastermind behind the Empire’s devastating attack, Rax has led the Empire to its defining moment. The cunning strategist has gathered the powerful remnants of the Empire’s war machine, preparing to execute the late Emperor Palpatine’s final plan. As the Imperial fleet orbits Jakku, an armada of Republic fighters closes in to finish what began at Endor. Norra and her crew soar into the heart of an apocalyptic clash that will leave land and sky alike scorched. And the future of the galaxy will finally be decided. Praise for Chuck Wendig’s Aftermath “Star Wars: Aftermath [reveals] what happened after the events of 1983’s Return of the Jedi. It turns out, there’s more than just the Empire for the good guys to worry about.”—The Hollywood Reporter “The Force is strong with Star Wars: Aftermath.”—Alternative Nation “The Star Wars universe is fresh and new again, and just as rich and mysterious as it always was.”—Den of Geek! Aftermath: Life Debt “Compulsively readable, the kind of caramel-corn book you just keep stuffing in your face until it’s gone.”—Tor.com “Man oh man, this is good stuff. [Life Debt] reveals what Han and Chewie were up to after Return of the Jedi.”—io9 “Gripping reading . . . [This novel] hits the ground running.”—New York Daily News

Book Title : Empire of Illusion
Author : Chris Hedges
Publisher : Knopf Canada
Release Date : 2009-07-28
Pages : 176
ISBN : 9780307398581
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empire of Illusion Summary : Pulitzer prize–winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion. Chris Hedges argues that we now live in two societies: One, the minority, functions in a print-based, literate world, that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other, a growing majority, is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. In this “other society,” serious film and theatre, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Hedges navigates this culture — attending WWF contests as well as Ivy League graduation ceremonies — exposing an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion. From the Hardcover edition.

đź“’Empire S End by John Keay

Book Title : Empire s end
Author : John Keay
Publisher : Scribner Book Company
Release Date : 1997-05
Pages : 385
ISBN : UOM:39015041053839
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empire s end Summary : As the British prepare to disengage themselves from Hong Kong, a study of the involvement of Europe and America in the Far East explores more than five hundred years of Western colonial presence in Asia and speculates about the future of the region's political and economic geography. 15,000 first printing.

Book Title : The Fate of Rome
Author : Kyle Harper
Publisher : Princeton University Press
Release Date : 2017-10-02
Pages : 440
ISBN : 9781400888917
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Fate of Rome Summary : A sweeping new history of how climate change and disease helped bring down the Roman Empire Here is the monumental retelling of one of the most consequential chapters of human history: the fall of the Roman Empire. The Fate of Rome is the first book to examine the catastrophic role that climate change and infectious diseases played in the collapse of Rome’s power—a story of nature’s triumph over human ambition. Interweaving a grand historical narrative with cutting-edge climate science and genetic discoveries, Kyle Harper traces how the fate of Rome was decided not just by emperors, soldiers, and barbarians but also by volcanic eruptions, solar cycles, climate instability, and devastating viruses and bacteria. He takes readers from Rome’s pinnacle in the second century, when the empire seemed an invincible superpower, to its unraveling by the seventh century, when Rome was politically fragmented and materially depleted. Harper describes how the Romans were resilient in the face of enormous environmental stress, until the besieged empire could no longer withstand the combined challenges of a “little ice age” and recurrent outbreaks of bubonic plague. A poignant reflection on humanity’s intimate relationship with the environment, The Fate of Rome provides a sweeping account of how one of history’s greatest civilizations encountered and endured, yet ultimately succumbed to the cumulative burden of nature’s violence. The example of Rome is a timely reminder that climate change and germ evolution have shaped the world we inhabit—in ways that are surprising and profound.

đź“’Empire S End by Allan Cole

Book Title : Empire s End
Author : Allan Cole
Publisher : Del Rey
Release Date : 1993
Pages : 441
ISBN : 034537696X
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empire s End Summary : Sten embarks on the ultimate treasure hunt--the search for the source of the Eternal Emperor's power--and along the way, he discovers the secret of the emperor's past and vows to destroy the empire. Original.

đź“’Empire S End by Jerry Jenkins

Book Title : Empire s End
Author : Jerry Jenkins
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date : 2015-06-09
Pages : 384
ISBN : 9781617950575
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empire s End Summary : Jerry Jenkins' surprising new novel is filled with adventure, drama, historic people and places, and even romance. Empire's End tells of a man who single-handedly turned the Roman Empire on-end. It will be the surprising, heart-stopping story of the year!

đź“’Empire Of Hell by Hilary M. Carey

Book Title : Empire of Hell
Author : Hilary M. Carey
Publisher : Cambridge University Press
Release Date : 2019-03-14
Pages : 330
ISBN : 9781107043084
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empire of Hell Summary : Challenges preconceptions of convict transportation from Britain and Ireland, penal colonies and religion.

đź“’Aftermath by Chuck Wendig

Book Title : Aftermath
Author : Chuck Wendig
Publisher : Random House
Release Date : 2015-09-10
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9781780893648
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Aftermath Summary : Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens The second Death Star has been destroyed, the Emperor killed, and Darth Vader struck down. Devastating blows against the Empire, and major victories for the Rebel Alliance. But the battle for freedom is far from over. As the Empire reels from its critical defeats at the Battle of Endor, the Rebel Allianceâe"now a fledgling New Republicâe"presses its advantage by hunting down the enemyâe(tm)s scattered forces before they can regroup and retaliate. But above the remote planet Akiva, an ominous show of the enemyâe(tm)s strength is unfolding. Out on a lone reconnaissance mission, pilot Wedge Antilles watches Imperial Star Destroyers gather like birds of prey circling for a kill, but heâe(tm)s taken captive before he can report back to the New Republic leaders. Meanwhile, on the planetâe(tm)s surface, former rebel fighter Norra Wexley has returned to her native worldâe"war weary, ready to reunite with her estranged son, and eager to build a new life in some distant place. But when Norra intercepts Wedge Antillesâe(tm)s urgent distress call, she realizes her time as a freedom fighter is not yet over. What she doesnâe(tm)t know is just how close the enemy isâe"or how decisive and dangerous her new mission will be. Determined to preserve the Empireâe(tm)s power, the surviving Imperial elite are converging on Akiva for a top-secret emergency summitâe"to consolidate their forces and rally for a counterstrike. But they havenâe(tm)t reckoned on Norra and her newfound alliesâe"her technical-genius son, a Zabrak bounty hunter, and a reprobate Imperial defectorâe"who are prepared to do whatever they must to end the Empireâe(tm)s oppressive reign once and for all.

đź“’Empires End by Allan Cole

Book Title : Empires End
Author : Allan Cole
Publisher :
Release Date :
Pages :
ISBN : OCLC:436944299
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Empires End Summary :

đź“’Globalists by Quinn Slobodian

Book Title : Globalists
Author : Quinn Slobodian
Publisher : Harvard University Press
Release Date : 2018-04-09
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9780674919785
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Globalists Summary : Neoliberals hate the state. Or do they? In the first intellectual history of neoliberal globalism, Quinn Slobodian follows a group of thinkers from the ashes of the Habsburg Empire to the creation of the World Trade Organization to show that neoliberalism emerged less to shrink government and abolish regulations than to redeploy them at a global level. Slobodian begins in Austria in the 1920s. Empires were dissolving and nationalism, socialism, and democratic self-determination threatened the stability of the global capitalist system. In response, Austrian intellectuals called for a new way of organizing the world. But they and their successors in academia and government, from such famous economists as Friedrich Hayek and Ludwig von Mises to influential but lesser-known figures such as Wilhelm Röpke and Michael Heilperin, did not propose a regime of laissez-faire. Rather they used states and global institutions—the League of Nations, the European Court of Justice, the World Trade Organization, and international investment law—to insulate the markets against sovereign states, political change, and turbulent democratic demands for greater equality and social justice. Far from discarding the regulatory state, neoliberals wanted to harness it to their grand project of protecting capitalism on a global scale. It was a project, Slobodian shows, that changed the world, but that was also undermined time and again by the inequality, relentless change, and social injustice that accompanied it.