As Good As Gone

📒As Good As Gone by Larry Watson

Book Title : As Good as Gone
Author : Larry Watson
Publisher : Algonquin Books
Release Date : 2016-06-21
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9781616206000
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

As Good as Gone Summary : “Honest, warm, humane, and at times shocking, As Good as Gone is an achievement of empathy and dignity.” —Smith Henderson, author of Fourth of July Creek Calvin Sidey is always ready to run, and it doesn’t take much to set him in motion. As a young man, he ran from this block, from Gladstone, from Montana, from this country. From his family and the family business. He ran from sadness, and he ran from responsibility. If the gossip was true, he ran from the law. It’s 1963, and Calvin Sidey, one of the last of the old cowboys, has long ago left his family to live a life of self-reliance out on the prairie. He’s been a mostly absentee father and grandfather until his estranged son asks him to stay with his grandchildren, Ann and Will, for a week while he and his wife are away. So Calvin agrees to return to the small town where he once was a mythic figure, to the very home he once abandoned. But trouble soon comes to the door when a boy’s attentions to seventeen-year-old Ann become increasingly aggressive and a group of reckless kids portend danger for eleven-year-old Will. Calvin knows only one way to solve problems: the Old West way, in which scores are settled and ultimatums are issued and your gun is always loaded. And though he has a powerful effect on those around him--from the widowed neighbor who has fallen under his spell to Ann and Will, who see him as the man who brings a sudden and violent order to their lives--in the changing culture of the 1960s, Calvin isn’t just a relic; he’s a wild card, a danger to himself and those who love him. In As Good as Gone, Larry Watson captures our longing for the Old West and its heroes, and he challenges our understanding of loyalty and justice. Both tough and tender, it is a stunning achievement.

📒Good As Gone by Amy Gentry

Book Title : Good as Gone
Author : Amy Gentry
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date : 2016-07-26
Pages : 288
ISBN : 9780544916074
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Good as Gone Summary : A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice "So gripping you might start to question your own family’s past." —Entertainment Weekly “[One] of the most anticipated summer thrillers . . . Gentry's novel isn't primarily about the version of the self that comes from a name and a family of origin; instead, it draws our attention to the self that's forged from sheer survival, and from the clarifying call to vengeance.” —New York Times Book Review Anna’s daughter Julie was kidnapped from her own bedroom when she was thirteen years old, while Anna slept just downstairs, unaware that her daughter was being ripped away from her. For eight years, she has lived with the guilt and the void in her family, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night, the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. Anna and the rest of the family are thrilled, but soon Anna begins to see holes in Julie’s story. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she is forced to wonder if this young woman is even her daughter at all. And if she isn’t Julie, what is it that she wants? “So much about this novel is fresh and insightful and decidedly not like every other thriller . . . Good as Gone ranks as an outstanding debut, well worth reading. This is no mere Gone Girl wannabe.” —Dallas Morning News

📒Good As Gone by Anna Pottier

Book Title : Good as Gone
Author : Anna Pottier
Publisher : Dundurn
Release Date : 2015-03-14
Pages : 336
ISBN : 9781459728554
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Good as Gone Summary : After dropping out of school, 23-year-old Anna Pottier became Layton's fifth and final wife. She was 48 years his junior. As Irving's partner, she shared his world until Parkinson's and early-stage Alzheimer's changed both of their lives, and Pottier had nothing left to give.

📒Last Woman Standing by Amy Gentry

Book Title : Last Woman Standing
Author : Amy Gentry
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin
Release Date : 2019-01-15
Pages : 320
ISBN : 9780544962538
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Last Woman Standing Summary : "In Amy Gentry's follow-up to her acclaimed debut, Good As Gone, two assaulted women make a pact to kill each other's tormentor. But in the fallout, their paranoia grows until neither is sure whom she can trust. At what cost will their vengeance come?"--

📒Gone For Good by Harlan Coben

Book Title : Gone for Good
Author : Harlan Coben
Publisher : Dell Publishing Company
Release Date : 2011
Pages : 420
ISBN : 9780345533050
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Gone for Good Summary : Investigating his girlfriend's mysterious disappearance, Will Klein learns that she is somehow tied to his brother's death and becomes increasingly disturbed when he realizes that everyone he loves is harboring dark secrets.

📒Good As Gone by Douglas Corleone

Book Title : Good As Gone
Author : Douglas Corleone
Publisher : Minotaur Books
Release Date : 2013-08-20
Pages : 304
ISBN : 9781250017215
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Good As Gone Summary : Former U.S. Marshal Simon Fisk now works as a private contractor, tracking down and recovering children who were kidnapped by their own estranged parents. He only has one rule: he won't touch stranger abduction cases. He's still haunted by the disappearance of his own daughter years ago when she was just a child, still unsolved, and stranger kidnappings hit too close to home. Until, that is, six-year-old Lindsay Sorkin disappears from her parents' hotel room in Paris, and the French police deliver Simon an ultimatum: he can spend years in a French jail for his actions during a past case, or he can work with them now to find Lindsay Sorkin. So, Simon sets out in pursuit of the missing child and the truth behind her disappearance. But Lindsay's captors did not leave an easy trail, and following it will take Simon across the continent, through the ritziest nightclubs and the seediest back alleys, into a terrifying world of international intrigue and dark corners of his past he'd rather never face again. With lightning-fast pacing and a twist behind every turn, Douglas Corleone's Good as Gone is a gripping race against the clock for a young girl with her life on the line and a man who has nothing left to lose.

📒Where She Has Gone by Nino Ricci

Book Title : Where She Has Gone
Author : Nino Ricci
Publisher : Emblem Editions
Release Date : 2016-03-29
Pages : 336
ISBN : 9780771076565
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Where She Has Gone Summary : Set in Toronto and Italy, this powerful sequel to In a Glass House explores the sometimes forbidden aspect of desire and one’s longing for what is unrecoverable. Victor Innocente remeets his half-sister in Toronto, shortly after his father’s death. Uneasy with their new proximity in each other’s lives, they are at first restrained. But gradually what is unspoken between them comes closer to the surface, setting in motion a course of events that will take Victor back to Valle del Sole in Italy, the place of his birth. It is there, where the story had its strange beginning twenty years earlier, that he confronts his past, its secrets and its revelations. Poignant, gripping, and written in luminous, highly charged prose, Where She Has Gone is an unforgettable novel – for its vivid portrayal of character and place, and for its extraordinarily moving encounter with the past.

📒He S Gone A Novel by Deb Caletti

Book Title : He s Gone A Novel
Author : Deb Caletti
Publisher : Bantam
Release Date : 2013-05-14
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9780345534361
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

He s Gone A Novel Summary : From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an intensely gripping story about love, loss, marriage, and secrets—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult, Kristin Hannah, and Anna Quindlen. “One of the best books I’ve read all year.”—Barbara O’Neal, author of The Garden of Happy Endings “What do you think happened to your husband, Mrs. Keller?” The Sunday morning starts like any other, aside from the slight hangover. Dani Keller wakes up on her Seattle houseboat, a headache building behind her eyes from the wine she drank at a party the night before. But on this particular Sunday morning, she’s surprised to see that her husband, Ian, is not home. As the hours pass, Dani fills her day with small things. But still, Ian does not return. Irritation shifts to worry, worry slides almost imperceptibly into panic. And then, like a relentless blackness, the terrible realization hits Dani: He’s gone. As the police work methodically through all the logical explanations—he’s hurt, he’s run off, he’s been killed—Dani searches frantically for a clue as to whether Ian is in fact dead or alive. And, slowly, she unpacks their relationship, holding each moment up to the light: from its intense, adulterous beginning, to the grandeur of their new love, to the difficulties of forever. She examines all the sins she can—and cannot—remember. As the days pass, Dani will plumb the depths of her conscience, turning over and revealing the darkest of her secrets in order to discover the hard truth—about herself, her husband, and their lives together. “A thought-provoking and moving exploration.”—New York Times bestselling author Erica Bauermeister Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

📒Montana 1948 by Larry Watson

Book Title : Montana 1948
Author : Larry Watson
Publisher : Milkweed Editions
Release Date : 2010-08-01
Pages : 186
ISBN : 1571318038
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Montana 1948 Summary : “From the summer of my twelfth year I carry a series of images more vivid and lasting than any others of my boyhood and indelible beyond all attempts the years make to erase or fade them… “ So begins David Hayden’s story of what happened in Montana in 1948. The events of that cataclysmic summer permanently alter twelve-year-old David’s understanding of his family: his father, a small-town sheriff; his remarkably strong mother; David’s uncle Frank, a war hero and respected doctor; and the Haydens’ Sioux housekeeper, Marie Little Soldier, whose revelations turn the family’s life upside down as she relates how Frank has been molesting his female Indian patients. As their story unravels around David, he learns that truth is not what one believes it to be, that power is abused, and that sometimes one has to choose between family loyalty and justice.

📒While I Was Gone by Sue Miller

Book Title : While I Was Gone
Author : Sue Miller
Publisher : Ballantine Books
Release Date : 2002-11-01
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9780345420749
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

While I Was Gone Summary : Years after a friend was brutally murdered, Jo Becker is now married with a grown family, but when an old housemate moves nearby, Jo rekindles a relationship that takes her back to the past and threatens her future.