Another Brooklyn

đź“’Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : Another Brooklyn
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release Date : 2016-08-09
Pages : 192
ISBN : 9780062446329
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Another Brooklyn Summary : The acclaimed New York Times bestselling and National Book Award–winning author of Brown Girl Dreaming delivers her first adult novel in twenty years. Running into a long-ago friend sets memory from the 1970s in motion for August, transporting her to a time and a place where friendship was everything—until it wasn’t. For August and her girls, sharing confidences as they ambled through neighborhood streets, Brooklyn was a place where they believed that they were beautiful, talented, brilliant—a part of a future that belonged to them. But beneath the hopeful veneer, there was another Brooklyn, a dangerous place where grown men reached for innocent girls in dark hallways, where ghosts haunted the night, where mothers disappeared. A world where madness was just a sunset away and fathers found hope in religion. Like Louise Meriwether’s Daddy Was a Number Runner and Dorothy Allison’s Bastard Out of Carolina, Jacqueline Woodson’s Another Brooklyn heartbreakingly illuminates the formative time when childhood gives way to adulthood—the promise and peril of growing up—and exquisitely renders a powerful, indelible, and fleeting friendship that united four young lives.

đź“’Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : Another Brooklyn
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Turtleback Books
Release Date : 2017-05-30
Pages : 175
ISBN : 0606403604
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Another Brooklyn Summary : Running into a long-ago friend sets memory from the 1970s in motion for August, transporting her to a time and a place where friendship was everything-until it wasn't. For August and her girls, sharing confidences as they ambled through neighborhood

đź“’Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : Another Brooklyn
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Oneworld Publications
Release Date : 2017-02-02
Pages : 192
ISBN : 9781786070852
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Another Brooklyn Summary : Running into a long-ago friend sets memory from the 1970s in motion for August, transporting her to a time and a place where friendship was everything – until it wasn’t. For August and her girls, sharing confidences as they ambled through neighbourhood streets, Brooklyn was a place where they believed that they were beautiful, talented, brilliant – a part of a future that belonged to them. But beneath the hopeful veneer, there was another Brooklyn, a dangerous place where grown men reached for innocent girls in dark hallways, where ghosts haunted the night, where mothers disappeared. A world where madness was just a sunset away and fathers found hope in religion.

đź“’Red At The Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : Red at the Bone
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Random House Large Print
Release Date : 2019-09-17
Pages : 282
ISBN : 0593152255
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Red at the Bone Summary : An extraordinary new novel about the influence of history on a contemporary African-American family, from the New York Times-bestselling and National Book Award-winning author of Another Brooklyn and Brown Girl Dreaming. Two black families from different social classes are joined together by an unexpected teen pregnancy and the child that it produces. Moving forward and backward in time, with the power of poetry and the emotional richness of a narrative ten times its length, Jacqueline Woodson's extraordinary new novel uncovers the role that history and community have played in the experiences, decisions, and relationships of these families, and the life of this child. As the book opens in 2001, it is the evening of 16-year-old Melody's birthday celebration in her grandparent's Brooklyn brownstone. Watched lovingly by her relatives and friends, escorted by her father to the soundtrack of Prince, she wears a special, custom-made dress. But the event is not without poignancy. Sixteen years earlier, that very dress was measured and sewn for a different wearer: Melody's mother, for her own 16th birthday party and a celebration which ultimately never took place, derailed by the unplanned pregnancy that resulted in Melody. Unfurling the history of Melody's parents and grandparents to show how they all arrived at this moment, Woodson considers not just their ambitions and successes but also the costs, the tolls they've paid for striving to overcome expectations and escape the pull of history. As it explores sexual desire and identity, ambition, gentrification, education, class and status, and the life-altering facts of parenthood, Red at the Bone most strikingly looks at the ways in which young people must so often make long-lasting decisions about their lives--even before they have begun to figure out who they are and what they want to be.

Book Title : I Hadn t Meant to Tell You this
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2010
Pages : 114
ISBN : 9780142417041
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

I Hadn t Meant to Tell You this Summary : Twelve-year-old Marie, the only black girl in the eighth grade willing to befriend her white classmate Lena, discovers that Lena's father is doing horrible things to her in private.

đź“’After Tupac D Foster by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : After Tupac D Foster
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2008-01
Pages : 153
ISBN : 0399246541
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

After Tupac D Foster Summary : In the New York City borough of Queens in 1996, three girls bond over their shared love of Tupac Shakur's music, as together they try to make sense of the unpredictable world in which they live.

đź“’Harbor Me by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : Harbor Me
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2018-08-28
Pages : 192
ISBN : 9780525515135
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Harbor Me Summary : Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature Jacqueline Woodson's first middle-grade novel since National Book Award winner Brown Girl Dreaming celebrates the healing that can occur when a group of students share their stories. It all starts when six kids have to meet for a weekly chat--by themselves, with no adults to listen in. There, in the room they soon dub the ARTT Room (short for "A Room to Talk"), they discover it's safe to talk about what's bothering them--everything from Esteban's father's deportation and Haley's father's incarceration to Amari's fears of racial profiling and Ashton's adjustment to his changing family fortunes. When the six are together, they can express the feelings and fears they have to hide from the rest of the world. And together, they can grow braver and more ready for the rest of their lives.

đź“’If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : If You Come Softly
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2006-06-22
Pages : 208
ISBN : 1101076976
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

If You Come Softly Summary : A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don't exactly fit in there. So it's a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together--even though she's Jewish and he's black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that's not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way. Jacqueline Woodson's work has been called “moving and resonant” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeous” (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering "why" and "if only . . ."

đź“’Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : Brown Girl Dreaming
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2016
Pages : 368
ISBN : 9780147515827
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Brown Girl Dreaming Summary : "Contains seven new, original poems by the author"--Page [4] of cover.

đź“’Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Title : Locomotion
Author : Jacqueline Woodson
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2010
Pages : 99
ISBN : 9780142415528
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Locomotion Summary : In a series of poems, eleven-year-old Lonnie writes about his life, after the death of his parents, separated from his younger sister, living in a foster home, and finding his poetic voice at school.