A Tale For The Time Being

Book Title : A Tale for the Time Being
Author : Ruth Ozeki
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2013-03-12
Pages : 432
ISBN : 9781101606254
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Tale for the Time Being Summary : A brilliant, unforgettable novel from bestselling author Ruth Ozeki—shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award “A time being is someone who lives in time, and that means you, and me, and every one of us who is, or was, or ever will be.” In Tokyo, sixteen-year-old Nao has decided there’s only one escape from her aching loneliness and her classmates’ bullying. But before she ends it all, Nao first plans to document the life of her great grandmother, a Buddhist nun who’s lived more than a century. A diary is Nao’s only solace—and will touch lives in ways she can scarcely imagine. Across the Pacific, we meet Ruth, a novelist living on a remote island who discovers a collection of artifacts washed ashore in a Hello Kitty lunchbox—possibly debris from the devastating 2011 tsunami. As the mystery of its contents unfolds, Ruth is pulled into the past, into Nao’s drama and her unknown fate, and forward into her own future. Full of Ozeki’s signature humor and deeply engaged with the relationship between writer and reader, past and present, fact and fiction, quantum physics, history, and myth, A Tale for the Time Being is a brilliantly inventive, beguiling story of our shared humanity and the search for home.

Book Title : A Tale for the Time Being
Author : Ruth L. Ozeki
Publisher : Clipper Audio
Release Date : 2014-01-01
Pages :
ISBN : 1471252221
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Tale for the Time Being Summary : Ruth discovers a Hello Kitty lunchbox washed up on the shore of her Canadian beach home and suspects it might be debris from the 2011 tsunami. Within it lies a diary that expresses the hopes and dreams of a young girl. With every turn of the page, Ruth is sucked deeper into an enchanting mystery, in which 16-year-old Nao Yasutani is trying to find a reader and friend who finally understands her.

Book Title : My Year of Meats
Author : Ruth Ozeki
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 1999-03-01
Pages : 400
ISBN : 1101141786
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

My Year of Meats Summary : A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love—the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being Ruth Ozeki’s mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as “rare and provocative” and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.

đź“’My Year Of Meats by Ruth L. Ozeki

Book Title : My Year of Meats
Author : Ruth L. Ozeki
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 1999
Pages : 382
ISBN : 0140280464
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

My Year of Meats Summary : Strange things happen in the love lives of two women--one a Japanese-American filmmaker from New York, the other a Japanese housewife--linked by a Japanese television show sponsored by an American meat exporter. A first novel. Reprint. Tour.

Book Title : All Over Creation
Author : Ruth Ozeki
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2004-03-30
Pages : 432
ISBN : 1440650047
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

All Over Creation Summary : A warm and witty saga about agribusiness, environmental activism, and community—from the celebrated author of My Year of Meats and A Tale for the Time Being Yumi Fuller hasn’t set foot in her hometown of Liberty Falls, Idaho—heart of the potato-farming industry—since she ran away at age fifteen. Twenty-five years later, the prodigal daughter returns to confront her dying parents, her best friend, and her conflicted past, and finds herself caught up in an altogether new drama. The post-millennial farming community has been invaded by Agribusiness forces at war with a posse of activists, the Seeds of Resistance, who travel the country in a camping car, “The Spudnick,” biofueled by pilfered McDonald’s french-fry oil. Following her widely hailed, award-winning debut novel, My Year of Meats, Ruth Ozeki returns here to deliver a quirky cast of characters and a wickedly humorous appreciation of the foibles of corporate life, globalization, political resistance, youth culture, and aging baby boomers. All Over Creation tells a celebratory tale of the beauty of seeds, roots, and growth—and the capacity for renewal that resides within us all.

đź“’Experimental Fiction by Julie Armstrong

Book Title : Experimental Fiction
Author : Julie Armstrong
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date : 2014-08-28
Pages : 176
ISBN : 9781441107299
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Experimental Fiction Summary : Ever since Ezra Pound's exhortation to 'make it new', experimentation has been a hallmark of contemporary literature. Ranging from the modernists, through the Beats to postmodernism and contemporary 'hyperfiction', this is a unique introduction to experimental fiction. Creative exercises throughout the book help students grapple with the many varieties of experimental fiction for themselves, deepening their understanding of these many forms and developing their own writing skills. In addition, the book examines the historical contexts and major themes of 20th-century experimental fiction and new directions for the novel offered by writers such as David Shields and Zadie Smith. Making often difficult works accessible for the first time reader and with extensive further reading guides, Experimental Fiction is an essential practical guidebook for students of creative writing and contemporary fiction. Writers covered include: James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Franz Kafka, Marcel Proust, Ralph Ellison, Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, William Gibson, Italo Calvino, Jeanette Winterson, Don Delillo, Caitlin Fisher, Geoff Ryeman, Xiaolu Guo, Tom McCarthy, James Frey and David Mitchell.

Book Title : Blizzard A tale of survival and daring in the Great Land
Author : NNStoelting
Publisher : Lulu.com
Release Date : 2017-12-18
Pages : 704
ISBN : 9781483479514
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Blizzard A tale of survival and daring in the Great Land Summary : In 1971, Kat Mission, recently divorced, headstrong and independent, packs her belongings, her geology degree, and her five-month-old daughter in her old pickup and drives to Alaska seeking adventure and a better life. She hears of a hardscrabble mining camp deep in the Isabel Pass that needs a cook. Awed by her surroundings, Kat has found a home. After tragedy and betrayal, the small company faces collapse. Kat offers a solution, and moves into an arena dominated by men. Then Kat meets a man whose love and patience is challenged by her stubborn determination and misplaced loyalties. By 1975, the Alaska oil pipeline changes everything, and tens of thousands of people flood the state for high-paying jobs. During the boom, lawlessness and greed create excitement and danger. Survival is key: surviving her own hardheadedness, the wilderness, injury, a bear attack, cabin fever, two shootings, and a raging blizzard that traps her in the middle of a frozen river in the Isabel Pass.

Book Title : From Squire to Squatter A Tale of the Old Land and the New
Author : Gordon Stables
Publisher : Library of Alexandria
Release Date : 1889
Pages : 384
ISBN : 9781465508775
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

From Squire to Squatter A Tale of the Old Land and the New Summary :

Book Title : A Tale of Seven Elements
Author : Eric Scerri
Publisher : Oxford University Press
Release Date : 2013-05-20
Pages : 304
ISBN : 9780199910748
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Tale of Seven Elements Summary : In 1913, English physicist Henry Moseley established an elegant method for "counting" the elements based on atomic number, ranging them from hydrogen (#1) to uranium (#92). It soon became clear, however, that seven elements were mysteriously missing from the lineup--seven elements unknown to science. In his well researched and engaging narrative, Eric Scerri presents the intriguing stories of these seven elements--protactinium, hafnium, rhenium, technetium, francium, astatine and promethium. The book follows the historical order of discovery, roughly spanning the two world wars, beginning with the isolation of protactinium in 1917 and ending with that of promethium in 1945. For each element, Scerri traces the research that preceded the discovery, the pivotal experiments, the personalities of the chemists involved, the chemical nature of the new element, and its applications in science and technology. We learn for instance that alloys of hafnium--whose name derives from the Latin name for Copenhagen (hafnia)--have some of the highest boiling points on record and are used for the nozzles in rocket thrusters such as the Apollo Lunar Modules. Scerri also tells the personal tales of researchers overcoming great obstacles. We see how Lise Meitner and Otto Hahn--the pair who later proposed the theory of atomic fission--were struggling to isolate element 91 when World War I intervened, Hahn was drafted into the German army's poison gas unit, and Meitner was forced to press on alone against daunting odds. The book concludes by examining how and where the twenty-five new elements have taken their places in the periodic table in the last half century. A Tale of Seven Elements paints a fascinating picture of chemical research--the wrong turns, missed opportunities, bitterly disputed claims, serendipitous findings, accusations of dishonesty--all leading finally to the thrill of discovery.

Book Title : The Rick Burners A Tale for the Present Time Fourth Edition By J E N Molesworth
Author :
Publisher :
Release Date : 1830
Pages :
ISBN : BL:A0018987735
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Rick Burners A Tale for the Present Time Fourth Edition By J E N Molesworth Summary :