A Lesson Before Dying 2

📒A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines

Book Title : A Lesson Before Dying
Author : Ernest J. Gaines
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 1994
Pages : 256
ISBN : 9780375702709
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Lesson Before Dying Summary : Grant Wiggins, a college-educated man who returns to his hometown to teach, forms an unlikely bond with Jefferson, a young Black man convicted of murder and sentenced to death, when he is asked to impart his learning and pride to the condemned man

📒A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines

Book Title : A Lesson Before Dying
Author : Ernest J. Gaines
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 2004-01-20
Pages : 272
ISBN : 1400077702
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Lesson Before Dying Summary : From the author of A Gathering of Old Men and The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman comes a deep and compassionate novel, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award. A young man who returns to 1940s Cajun country to teach visits a black youth on death row for a crime he didn't commit. Together they come to understand the heroism of resisting.

📒A Lesson Before Dying by Romulus Linney

Book Title : A Lesson Before Dying
Author : Romulus Linney
Publisher : Dramatists Play Service Inc
Release Date : 2001
Pages : 56
ISBN : 0822217856
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Lesson Before Dying Summary : THE STORY: Jefferson, an innocent young man, is condemned to death in backwoods Louisiana in 1948. At the trial his lawyer, trying to save his life, called him no more a human being than a hog. In prison, he acts like one, insisting that he will be

Book Title : The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman
Author : Ernest J. Gaines
Publisher : Bantam
Release Date : 2012-10-24
Pages : 272
ISBN : 9780307830258
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman Summary : "This is a novel in the guise of the tape-recorded recollections of a black woman who has lived 110 years, who has been both a slave and a witness to the black militancy of the 1960's. In this woman Ernest Gaines has created a legendary figure, a woman equipped to stand beside William Faulkner's Dilsey in The Sound And The Fury." Miss Jane Pittman, like Dilsey, has 'endured,' has seen almost everything and foretold the rest. Gaines' novel brings to mind other great works The Odyssey for the way his heroine's travels manage to summarize the American history of her race, and Huckleberry Finn for the clarity of her voice, for her rare capacity to sort through the mess of years and things to find the one true story in it all." -- Geoffrey Wolff, Newsweek. "Stunning. I know of no black novel about the South that excludes quite the same refreshing mix of wit and wrath, imagination and indignation, misery and poetry. And I can recall no more memorable female character in Southern fiction since Lena of Faulkner's Light In August than Miss Jane Pittman." -- Josh Greenfeld, Life

📒A Gathering Of Old Men by Ernest J. Gaines

Book Title : A Gathering of Old Men
Author : Ernest J. Gaines
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 2012-10-31
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9780307830388
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Gathering of Old Men Summary : Set on a Louisiana sugarcane plantation in the 1970s, A Gathering of Old Men is a powerful depiction of racial tensions arising over the death of a Cajun farmer at the hands of a black man.

📒In My Father S House by Ernest J. Gaines

Book Title : In My Father s House
Author : Ernest J. Gaines
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 2012-10-24
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9780307830371
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

In My Father s House Summary : A compelling novel of a man brought to reckon with his buried past. In St. Adrienne, a small black community in Louisiana, Reverend Phillip Martin—a respected minister and civil rights leader—comes face to face with the sins of his youth in the person of Robert X, a young, unkempt stranger who arrives in town for a mysterious "meeting" with the Reverend. In the confrontation between the two, the young man's secret burden explodes into the open, and Phillip Martin begins a long-neglected journey into his youth to discover how destructive his former life was, for himself and for those around him.

📒Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Book Title : Cloud Atlas
Author : David Mitchell
Publisher : Vintage Canada
Release Date : 2010-07-16
Pages : 528
ISBN : 9780307373571
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Cloud Atlas Summary : By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon. Praise for Cloud Atlas “[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”—The New York Times Book Review “One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers “Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”—People “The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon “Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”—The Washington Post Book World “Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.”—Boston Sunday Globe “Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.”—Los Angeles Times From the Hardcover edition.

📒The Sky Is Gray by Ernest J. Gaines

Book Title : The Sky is Gray
Author : Ernest J. Gaines
Publisher :
Release Date : 2002
Pages : 32
ISBN : OCLC:49284989
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

The Sky is Gray Summary : A poor African American boy and his mother experience both discrimination and kindness during a trip to town to see the dentist.

📒A Long Day In November by Ernest J. Gaines

Book Title : A Long Day in November
Author : Ernest J. Gaines
Publisher : Lizzie Skurnick Books
Release Date : 1971
Pages : 137
ISBN : 1939601029
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

A Long Day in November Summary : When Sonny's mother decides to leave home to live at his grandmother's, Sonny and his father seek the advice of a sorcerer to win her back.

📒Breaking Through by Francisco Jiménez

Book Title : Breaking Through
Author : Francisco Jiménez
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date : 2002-10-01
Pages : 208
ISBN : 0547349823
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French

Breaking Through Summary : At the age of fourteen, Francisco Jiménez, together with his older brother Roberto and his mother, are caught by la migra. Forced to leave their home in California, the entire family travels all night for twenty hours by bus, arriving at the U.S. and Mexican border in Nogales, Arizona. In the months and years that follow during the late 1950s-early 1960s, Francisco, his mother and father, and his seven brothers and sister not only struggle to keep their family together, but also face crushing poverty, long hours of labor, and blatant prejudice. How they sustain their hope, their good-heartedness, and tenacity is revealed in this moving, Pura Belpré Honor-winning sequel to The Circuit. Without bitterness or sentimentality, Francisco Jiménez finishes telling the story of his youth.